How L-Theanine Will Change Your Morning Coffee Forever

Michael Brooks
10 min readFeb 8, 2018

I love coffee.

I’m that guy in the lunchroom whirling his handheld coffee grinder at 8:00 AM like some pepper grinder aficionado.

But I won’t lie. I will settle when the laziness sets in (I’ve been spoiled by our fancy coffee machines; I can’t help it). BUT. If you happen to get me started on De Mello Palheta’s Butterfly Kiss or Pilot’s Kenyan blend…game over.

Strange enough, not everyone is as fanatical as I am. For some bizarre reason, not everyone owns a pour-over, an Aeropress, and multiple French presses.

The truth: most people couldn’t care less about savoring that morning cup of coffee. When I ask team members, friends, or family why they drink coffee, most admit it’s not out of enjoyment. Sure, that latte is pretty tasty, but there’s more to coffee than just a sweet, creamy treat.

The main reason for waking up and running to Tim Hortons, turning on the Keurig, or grinding beans for their French press is that coffee makes them feel focused, productive, and alert. Yes, coffee can actually be enjoyed. I’m living proof. But many have adopted it as part of a holy, daily routine.

I love the bold and delicate flavors of various roasts. But as much as I enjoy coffee, it’s also a tool. A tool I use every day that helps me get…

--

--

Michael Brooks

All things science-backed wellness, mindfulness, and marketing.